Skip to Main Content

Chicago 17th

Chicago 17th edition is a footnote referencing style requiring an in-text citation, a related footnote within the text, plus a related entry in a bibliography at the end of your document.

Statistics & data - in-text citations & footnotes

In-text citations

Add a superscript number in your text to show when you are using another person's ideas or words. 

... as described by Cowan, this has only recently been identified.1

Footnote citations

The footnote contains information about the source you are citing, include the page number(s) of the page/paragraph within the item you are referring to. When citing the same source again, use the shorter footnote formats.

Footnote numbering: Footnotes are placed in numerical order at the bottom of the page. On a new page, footnote numbering continues. In a new chapter, footnote numbering starts from 1.

Record locator/URL: Statistics and data from a database should be given with record locator information and the precise URL, if possible.

Access Date: Include the date accessed.

For more information on reference list format and style, see General information - basics of referencing. 

 

Full Footnote Format

Footnote number. Database name (record locator/data marker/accession number; accessed Month Day, Year). URL.

Examples

1. ANZOrg Database (object name BOLT J00802+8921; accessed April 16, 2012). http://anzorg.bolt.data.edu/.

2. IntFiles (for KN24-662J59 TOQ [accession number BR985631.7]; accessed May 13, 2016). http://www.intfiles-kn-gov/toqcore/62081652.

 

Shortened Footnote Format

Use database name. If the title is longer than four words, shorten it.

Footnote number. Database name (record locator/data marker/accession number).

Examples

1. ANZOrg Database (object name BOLT J00802+8921).

2. IntFiles (for KN24-662J59 TOQ).

 

Citing the same source again

When footnote references to the same source follow each other, with no other references in between, use the shorter footnote form:

1. Archer, "Crisis and Change," 37.

2. Archer, 40.

3. Archer, 40.

4. Wall, Truth and Meaning, 324.

5. Archer, "Crisis and Change," 43.

Note: Chicago 17th edition discourages the use of 'ibid.' in favour of this shorter format.

Statistics & data - bibliography

Record locator/URL: Statistics and data from a database should be given with record locator information and the precise URL, if possible.

Access Date: Include the date accessed.

For more information on reference list format and style, see General information - basics of referencing. 

Format from a database

Database name (record locator/data marker/[accession number]; accessed Month Day, Year). URL.

Examples

ANZOrg Database (object name BOLT J00802+8921; accessed April 16, 2012). http://anzorg.bolt.data.edu/.

IntFiles (for KN24-662J59 TOQ [accession number BR985631.7]; accessed May 13, 2016). http://www.intfiles-kn-gov/toqcore/62081652.