Add a superscript number in your text to show when you are using another person's ideas or words.
... as described by Cowan, this has only recently been identified.1
The footnote contains information about the source you are citing, include the page number/s of the page/paragraph within the item you are referring to. When citing the same source again, use the shorter footnote formats.
Footnote numbering: Footnotes are placed in numerical order at the bottom of the page. On a new page, footnote numbering continues. In a new chapter, footnote numbering starts from 1.
Article title: The "Article Title" is in normal font and title case (capitalise the first letter of each major word), with quotation marks around it.
Newspaper title: The Newspaper Title is in italics and title case (capitalise the first letter of each major word). Newspaper titles should be given in full, omitting the initial 'The' (e.g. use New York Times, not The New York Times).
Section number/title: If the newspaper is published in several sections, the section number (e.g. sec. 2) or the title (e.g. Travel) may be given.
Date of publication: Newspapers are usually cited with month, day, and year.
Page number: Only add for print newspapers.
Edition: In the note/bibliography, it may be useful to add what edition it is (e.g. final edition, evening edition, New York edition).
For more information on reference list format and style, see General information - basics of referencing.
Footnote number. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Footnote number. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Footnote number. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Page number.
1. Alex Hannagan, "Decades of Dior Dazzling," Life & Style: Travel, Otago Daily Times, February 25, 2025, https://www.odt.co.nz/lifestyle/travel/decades-dior-dazzling
2. John Hawkins, “A Passion for Jazz and Cricket,” Northern Advocate, June 2, 1990, Index New Zealand.
3. Jesse Mulligan, "Absolutely Fabio-lous," Viva, New Zealand Herald, April 16, 2025, 14.
Use author's last name only, followed by et al. If the title is longer than four words, shorten it.
Footnote number. Author Last Name, "Title of Article," page number/s.
Examples
1. Hannagan. "Decades of Dior Dazzling."
2. Hawkins, "A Passion For Jazz."
3. Mulligan, "Absolutely Fabio-lous," 14.
Referring to the immediately preceding reference
4. Mullingan, 14.
List authors in the order in which they appear in the source.
Footnote number. Author One First Name Last Name, Author Two First Name Last Name, and Author Three First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Footnote number. Author One First Name Last Name, Author Two First Name Last Name, and Author Three First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Footnote number. Author One First Name Last Name, Author Two First Name Last Name, and Author Three First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Page number.
1. Fiona Mantell, Ellen Ramsay, and Richard Ellis, "Good Eats," Guardian (UK edition), August 12, 2015, https://www.theguardian.com/tone/recipes/good-eats.
2. Yu Luo, Jiaying Zhao, and Rebecca M. Todd, “Climate Explained: Why are Climate Change Skeptics Often Right-Wing Conservatives?,” Stuff, September 20, 2019. Newztext.
3. Jared Savage, and Craig Kapitan, "Gang Member Admits Role in Record $100m Meth Haul," New Zealand Herald, April 16, 2025, A12.
Use authors' last names only. If the title is longer than four words, shorten it.
Footnote number. Author One, Author Two, and Author Three, "Title of Article."
Examples
1. Mantell, Ramsay, and Ellis, "Good Eats."
2. Luo, Zhao, and Todd, “Climate Explained.”
3. Savage, and Kapitan, "Gang Member Admits Role."
Referring to the immediately preceding reference
4. Savage, and Kapitan.
List the first author only, followed by et al.
Footnote number. Author One First Name Last Name, et al., "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Footnote number. Author One First Name Last Name, et al., "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of database.
Footnote number. Author One First Name Last Name, et al., "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Page number.
1. Peter Stables, et al., "A Marathon Finish," Washington Post, September 23, 2012.
2. Daria Bashiri, et al., "Travelling Cold in Iceland," Otago Daily Times, March 15, 2009.
3. Rachel Claun, et al., “The Best Music to Work Out To,” Sydney Morning Herald, January 24, 2014, Newstext.
Use first author's last name only, followed by et al. If the title is longer than four words, shorten it.
Footnote number. Author One Last Name et al., "Title of Article."
Examples
1. Stables et al., "A Marathon Finish."
2. Bashiri et al., "Travelling Cold in Iceland."
3. Claun et al., “Best Music to Work.”
Referring to the immediately preceding reference
4. Claun et al.
Include any introductory articles in the organisation name, e.g. ‘A’, ‘The’, or ‘An’.
Footnote number. Organisation Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Footnote number. Organisation Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Footnote number. Organisation Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Page number.
1. Associated Press, "Singapore Airlines Tightens Cabin Safety Measures After Turbulence Killed One, Injured Dozens," Chicago Tribune, May 24, 2024, https://www.chicagotribune.com/2024/05/24/singapore-airlines/.
2. Ministry of Education, “How Ontario's Education Dollars Get Spent,” Toronto Star (Canada), September 8, 2002, EBSCOhost.
3. RNZ, "Population Growth Among NZ's," New Zealand Herald, April 17, 2025, A5.
Use Organisation name. If the title is longer than four words, shorten it.
Footnote number. Organisation Name, "Title of Article."
Examples
1. Associated Press, "Singapore Airlines Tightens Cabin."
2. Ministry of Education, “How Ontario's Education Dollars."
3. RNZ, "Population Growth Among NZ's," A5.
Referring to the immediately preceding reference
4. RNZ, A5.
Include any introductory articles in the title, e.g. ‘A’, ‘The’, or ‘An’.
Footnote number. "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Footnote number. "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of database.
Footnote number. "Title of Article," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Page number.
1. "Council Puts Bite on Unregistered Dogs," Central Leader, March 6, 2025, https://www.neighbourly.co.nz/e-edition/central-leader/53543.
2. "Linguistic Diversity: One in Four Speak More Than One Language," The Press, October 29, 2024, Ebscohost.
3. “Metallic Mix,” Viva, New Zealand Herald, April 16, 2025, 7.
If the title is longer than four words, shorten it.
Footnote number. "Title of Article."
Examples
1. "Council Puts Bite."
2. "Linguistic Diversity."
3. “Metallic Mix," 7.
Referring to the immediately preceding reference
4. “Metallic Mix," 7.
When footnote references to the same source follow each other, with no other references in between, use the shorter footnote form:
1. Archer, "Crisis and Change," 37.
2. Archer, 40.
3. Archer, 40.
4. Wall, Truth and Meaning, 324.
5. Archer, "Crisis and Change," 43.
Note: Chicago 17th edition discourages the use of 'ibid.' in favour of this shorter format.
Article title: The "Article Title" is in normal font and title case (capitalise the first letter of each major word), with quotation marks around it.
Newspaper title: The Newspaper Title is in italics and title case (capitalise the first letter of each major word). The newspaper title should be given in full, omitting the initial 'The' (e.g. use New York Times, not The New York Times).
Section number/title: If the newspaper is published in several sections, the section number (e.g. sec. 2) or the title (e.g. Travel) may be given.
Date of publication: Newspapers are usually cited with month, day, and year.
Page numbers: Omit the page number range, if any, from the bibliography. Use the section number or section title, if appropriate, instead.
Edition: In the note/bibliography, it may be useful to add what edition it is (e.g. final edition, evening edition, New York edition).
For more information on reference list format and style, see General information - basics of referencing.
Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication.
Hannagan, Alex. "Decades of Dior Dazzling." Life & Style: Travel. Otago Daily Times, February 25, 2025. https://www.odt.co.nz/lifestyle/travel/decades-dior-dazzling.
Hawkins, John. “A Passion for Jazz and Cricket.” Northern Advocate, June 2, 1990. Index New Zealand.
Mulligan, Jesse. "Absolutely Fabio-lous." Viva. New Zealand Herald, April 16, 2025.
Reverse the order of the first author's name only (i.e. Last name, First name).
Author One Last Name, First Name, Author Two First Name Last Name, and Author Three First Name Last Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Author One Last Name, First Name, Author Two First Name Last Name, and Author Three First Name Last Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Author One Last Name, First Name, Author Two First Name Last Name, and Author Three First Name Last Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication.
Mantell, Fiona, Ellen Ramsay, and Richard Ellis. "Good Eats." Guardian (UK edition), August 12, 2015. https://www.theguardian.com/tone/recipes/good-eats.
Luo, Yu, Jiaying Zhao, and Rebecca M. Todd. “Climate Explained: Why are Climate Change Skeptics Often Right-Wing Conservatives?” Stuff, September 20, 2019. Newztext.
Savage, Jared, and Craig Kapitan. "Gang Member Admits Role in Record $100m Meth Haul." New Zealand Herald, April 16, 2025.
Reverse the order of the first author's name only (i.e. Last name, First name).
Author One, Author Two, Author Three, Author Four, Author Five, Author Six, Author Seven, Author Eight, Author Nine, and Author Ten. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Author One, Author Two, Author Three, Author Four, Author Five, Author Six, Author Seven, Author Eight, Author Nine, and Author Ten. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Author One, Author Two, Author Three, Author Four, Author Five, Author Six, Author Seven, Author Eight, Author Nine, and Author Ten. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication.
Bashiri, Daria, Sandy Young, Renee Ward, Tina Snell, Bruce Goldstone, Julia Cormack, Karen Novak, and Larry B. Smith. "Travelling Cold in Iceland." Otago Daily Times, March 15, 2009. https://www.stuff.co.nz/odt/travel/iceland.
Claun, Rachel, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby. “The Best Music to Work Out To.” Sydney Morning Herald, January 24, 2014. Newstext.
Stables, Peter, Alice Moss, Nick Templeton, Geoff Hendy, Fan Zhu, Paul C. Simpson, Christina Williams, Jason Taylor, Sally Miles-Chan, and Garth Poole. "A Marathon Finish." Washington Post, September 23, 2012.
List only the first seven authors, followed by 'et al'. Reverse the order of the first author's name only (i.e., Last name, First name).
Author One, Author Two, Author Three, Author Four, Author Five, Author Six, Author Seven, et al. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Author One, Author Two, Author Three, Author Four, Author Five, Author Six, Author Seven, et al. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Author One, Author Two, Author Three, Author Four, Author Five, Author Six, Author Seven, et al. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication.
Burton, Gary, Anna Roke, Hannah M. Faloon, Mark Reti, Colin Yan, Paul Newton, Leo Patel, et al. "Christmas Book List." New Zealand Herald, December 18, 2017. http://www.nzherald.co.nz/culture/2017/dec/18/christmas-reads.
Deb, Sopan, Martin Crowe, Stephen Fleming, Kane Williamson, Richard Hadlee, Tim Southee, et al. “Springsteen won't be at inauguration, but his music might be.” Toronto Star (Canada), January 14, 2017. EBSCOhost.
King, Juliet, Marta Evans, Duncan Landers, John A. Salter, Monique Pilkington, Sally Field, Rachel Liew, et al. "Award-winning Baches." Waikato Times, January 3, 2018.
Include any introductory articles in the organisation name, e.g., ‘A’, ‘The’, or ‘An’. Ignore introductory articles when alphabetically ordering the bibliography.
Organisation Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Organisation Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication. Name of Database.
Organisation Name. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year of publication.
Associated Press. "Singapore Airlines Tightens Cabin Safety Measures After Turbulence Killed One, Injured Dozens." Chicago Tribune, May 24, 2024. https://www.chicagotribune.com/2024/05/24/singapore-airlines/.
Ministry of Education. “How Ontario's Education Dollars Get Spent.” Toronto Star (Canada) , September 8, 2002. EBSCOhost.
RNZ. "Population Growth Among NZ's Fastest Over Last Decade." New Zealand Herald, April 17, 2025.
For unknown authors, place the Newspaper Title in the author's position.
Newspaper Title. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Month Day, Year. URL.
Newspaper Title. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Month Day, Year. Name of Database.
Newspaper Title. "Title of Article." Section no/title. Month Day, Year.
Central Leader. "Council Puts Bite on Unregistered Dogs." March 6, 2025. https://www.neighbourly.co.nz/e-edition/central-leader/53543.
Kaipara Times. "Farmers Matter: Mental Health Concerns." March 29, 2020. Informit New Zealand Collection.
New Zealand Herald. “Metallic Mix.” Viva. April 16, 2025.