LibGuides: Fine Arts: Painting

Getting started

Search using keywords to find information.

Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, e.g. "Evelyn Page" "portrait painting"

Examples of keywords to use for finding information about paintings and painters.
To find information on:	Use
paintings	“contemporary painting”; “landscape painting”; “portrait painting”; expressionism painting; futurism painting
painters	“gerhard richter”; “bill hammon” exhibitions; “saskia leek” interviews

Use the Catalogue to find books, journal articles, images, videos and more held in our Library collection.

Grove Art Online
Covers global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. A good place to start with art research.
Credo Reference
Extensive subject coverage, including the visual arts. Use to find background information on a topic.

Art Full Text
Includes peer-reviewed journals, art dissertations, art reproductions providing examples of styles and art movements, and works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and includes a database-specific thesaurus.
JSTOR
Peer-reviewed journals, books, and image collections across a wide range of academic disciplines, including the humanities and social sciences.
Google Scholar
Search by keywords for scholarly materials. Enter the details of a known book or article and find other researchers who have cited the author in their research. Use the ‘Find Full Text @ Auckland’ link to access the full text in our University of Auckland library collection.

Theses are a good place to start to understand the expectations of your discipline.

Thesis Examples: Creative Arts and Industries
Exemplar theses from Creative Arts and Industries that include creative practice.
Library Catalogue - Advanced Search
Find more theses completed at the University of Auckland - select the Advanced Search, click on the ‘UoA Theses’ radio button, and then search by keywords.
Finding theses and dissertations
Explore additional resources to find theses beyond our library collection.

Art21
Chronicler of contemporary art and artists that aims to inspire creative thinking and educate.
e-flux
Critical discourse across art, architecture, film, and theory.
Raw Vision
The world of outsider art.
Tate Museum's Glossary of Art Terms
Glossary explaining and illuminating art terminology.

Explore more journals held in the Library on Painting.

The Creative Arts and Industries Study and Research Skills Hub is designed to help you develop the academic skills needed to succeed in your studies.

If you have questions about library services, you can: