LibGuides: Fine Arts: Contemporary Art

Getting started

Contemporary Art is the term given to art that is considered 'of its time' or of the very recent past. Rather than defining a specific period it has a more elastic scope and moves forward with time.

Keyword searching

Search using keywords to find information.
Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, e.g. "Jim Dine" "conceptual art"

Examples of keywords to use for finding information about contemporary art and artists.
To find information on:	Use
art genres or movements	“conceptual art”; minimalism; postmodernism
artists	“Ralph Hotere”; “Seraphine Pick” exhibitions; “Cindy Sherman” interviews

Recommended resources

Library Catalogue

Use the Catalogue to find books, journal articles, images, videos and more held in our Library collection.

Background information

Grove Art Online
Covers global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. A good place to start with art research.
Credo Reference
Extensive subject coverage, including the visual arts. Use to find background information on a topic.

Databases

Art Full Text
Includes peer-reviewed journals, art dissertations, art reproductions providing examples of styles and art movements, and works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and includes a database-specific thesaurus.
JSTOR
Peer-reviewed journals, books, and image collections across a wide range of academic disciplines, including the humanities and social sciences.
Google Scholar
Search by keywords for scholarly materials. Enter the details of a known book or article and find other researchers who have cited the author in their research. Use the ‘Find Full Text @ Auckland’ link to access the full text in our University of Auckland library collection.

Theses and dissertations

Theses are a good place to start to understand the expectations of your discipline.

Thesis Examples: Creative Arts and Industries
Exemplar theses from Creative Arts and Industries that include creative practice.
Library Catalogue - Advanced Search
Find more theses completed at the University of Auckland - select the Advanced Search, click on the ‘UoA Theses’ radio button, and then search by keywords.
Finding theses and dissertations
Explore additional resources to find theses beyond our library collection.

ArtsDiary
Art exhibitions in Auckland art galleries.
CIRCUIT
A non-profit arts agency supporting New Zealand artists working in the moving image.
EyeContact
Critical reviews and discussion on art and visual culture in New Zealand.
Tautai: Pacific Arts Trust
Pacific arts organisation with a multidisciplinary focus dedicated to championing Pacific arts and artists.

Art21
Chronicler of contemporary art and artists that aims to inspire creative thinking and educate.
Contemporary Art Daily
Daily journal of international exhibitions.
e-flux
Critical discourse across art, architecture, film, and theory.
Parkett
A one-of-a-kind, one-stop survey and archive on, and with, contemporary artists from around the world. Publications from 1984-2017 that include direct collaborations with compelling contemporary artists.
Raw Vision
The world of outsider art.
Tate Museum's Glossary of Art Terms
Glossary explaining and illuminating art terminology.

Journals

CAI Study and Research Skills

The Creative Arts and Industries Study and Research Skills Hub is designed to help you develop the academic skills needed to succeed in your studies.

Have any questions?

If you have questions about library services, you can:

Ask us