LibGuides: Music: Audio

Databases

Naxos Music Library
Streaming tracks, including the complete Naxos catalogue, as well as recordings from major record labels such as EMI Classics, Teldec and Erato and includes the New Zealand Rattle and Atoll labels are also represented.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
A wide range of jazz, from historical to contemporary styles included, from over 250 labels, including major labels such as Warner Jazz, EMI, and Fantasy.

TV and Radio
Explore New Zealand music within TV and Radio – the collection covers recorded and streamed content including documentaries, films, news, and current affairs.

Library collections

The Library has extensive collections of recordings for listening to in the library or for borrowing:

Special Collections houses thousands of LPs, CDs, 78s and cassettes. These are available for use in the Special Collections Reading Room, General Library, Level G; they can also be used for teaching purposes.
The Music CDs Collection is located on Level 5 within the General Library. It is mainly a general study collection, and all items can be borrowed.

Archive of Māori and Pacific Sound

The University of Auckland’s important audiovisual collection of vocal and instrumental music, oral histories, stories and language resources, from 1919 to the present. Material can be copied for your use.

Explore the Archive of Māori and Pacific Sound.

New Zealand recordings online

SOUNZ
New Zealand concert works from the Centre for New Zealand Music.
Audio Culture
About New Zealand popular music, including access to recordings via Spotify.
Radio NZ (RNZ)
Recordings and information about both popular and concert music.

Other New Zealand collections

Auckland Libraries
CDs in all genres.
National Library of New Zealand
More than 70,000 recordings, many of which can be borrowed by Interlibrary Loan.

Learn more about Interlibrary Loan.

CAI Study and Research Skills

The Creative Arts and Industries Study and Research Skills Hub is designed to help you develop the academic skills needed to succeed in your studies.

Have any questions?

If you have questions about library services, you can:

Ask us