LibGuides: Social Sciences: Public Policy

Databases

ABI/Inform Collection
Advertising, economics, human resources, finance, marketing, computers, and company information.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT)
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
EconLit
Economics books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

IDEAS
Bibliographic database on economics.

Informit AGIS Plus Text
Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Journal articles on medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health.

NZ Research
Theses and research papers.

OECD iLibrary
Publications and datasets released by OECD, International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
PAIS Index
Index of public policy articles, books and government documents including policy topics from law, political science, public administration, international law and relations, demography, public health, education, economics, finance and the environment.
ProQuest Central
The largest aggregated database of periodicals, scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Sage Journals
Humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.
Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences and arts.
UNdata: A World of Information
UN Statistics Division global statistical information.

Handbooks and encyclopedias

Routledge Handbook of Public Policy by Eduardo Araral (Editor); Scott Fritzen (Editor); Michael Howlett (Editor); M. Ramesh (Editor); Xun Wu (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203097571
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Handbook of Public Policy by Michael Moran (Editor); Martin Rein (Editor); Robert E. Goodin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199548453
Publication Date: 2008
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice by Friedrich Schneider (Editor); Charles K. Rowley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780792386070
Publication Date: 2004

Legislative process

Legislation

The Legislative Process
How a Bill Becomes Law
Hansard (Debates)
New Zealand Parliamentary Debates with written and oral questions, since 2003.
Historical Hansard
New Zealand Parliamentary Debates 1854-2016.

See the New Zealand Legislation guide to find bills and acts.

Select committees

Select Committees
An integral part of the New Zealand legislative process and is the forum for public input into the parliamentary process.
About Select Committees
Schedule of Meetings
The Schedule of Meetings record when a Select Committee is open to the public. When committees are not hearing evidence, proceedings are not open to the public.
Weekly Summaries
Overview of notes from select committee meetings. This includes details regarding documents tabled, and reports presented.
Make a Submission

Committee progress reports

Parliamentary Bulletin
Track the progress of Select Committee reports, including when they are presented to the House. Information on the shoulder number is included.
Journals of the House
Official record of the proceedings of the House of Representatives, including papers presented to the House, Bills and their progress, members of select committees, and petitions presented.
Progress of Legislation
Compiled by the Office of Clerk, taken from the most recent Parliamentary Bulletin.
Select Committee Reports
All Parliaments: 47th-53rd (2002-present).
Appendix to the Journals of the House of Representatives of New Zealand
For reports prior to 2002, see "I papers"
For government responses to Select Committee, see A25.

News from Select Committees

Newztext Plus
New Zealand magazines and newspapers.

New Zealand Government

Official publications

Journals of the House
Official record of the proceedings of the House of Representatives, including papers presented to the House, Bills and their progress, members of select committees, and petitions presented.
Appendix to the Journals of the House of Representatives of New Zealand
AJHR
Annual reports and other reports documenting the work of government departments and public organisations, and reports of select committees and commissions of inquiry.
AtoJs Online
Appendices to the Journals from 1858 onwards.
Hansard (Debates)
New Zealand Parliamentary Debates with written and oral questions, since 2003.
Historical Hansard
New Zealand Parliamentary Debates 1854-2016.
Parliamentary Bulletin
Track the progress of Select Committee reports, including when they are presented to the House. Information on the shoulder number is included.
Order Paper & Questions
New Zealand Gazette
Official newspaper of the Government of New Zealand.

Government business

Cabinet Committees
Cabinet and Cabinet Committee Procedures
CabGuide - Writing a Paper
Advice for writing cabinet papers.
Public and Government Inquiries
Royal Commissions and Government Inquiries.
Search the official website of the New Zealand Government
Political Parties in New Zealand
Electoral Commission information about parties.

Ministries and Government Departments

Government A-Z
Ministry websites are an excellent place to find reports and documents on policy and legislation related matters.

Arts Essay Skills Hub

The Arts Essay Skills Hub guides you through the process of completing an Arts essay assignment; from understanding your topic, finding good information, to writing and referencing.

Have any questions?

If you have questions about library services, you can:

Ask us