LibGuides: Pacific Research: Collections and archives

University of Auckland collections

Fāgogo: Fables from Samoa

Samoan fables recorded in Samoa in the 1960s by Richard Moyle as part of a survey of traditional forms of music.

Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society
Dating back to 1892. Early issues of the Journal contain a rich repository of indigenous texts and traditions contributed by Pacific peoples, as well as by missionaries and other sojourners, often published in local languages with English translations.

Pacific Manuscripts Bureau
An archive of over 4,000 microfilm reels of non-government Pacific Island primary sources (archives, manuscripts and rare printed material). The University of Auckland membership ended in 2023, so digital content (jpgs, .pdfs) is not available. However, most microfilm reels can be accessed in the Microtext Room (General Library, Level G).

How to access:

Search the PMB Catalogue or browse the PMB finding aids by subject.
Note the title details or the number in the Reference code field.
Search the UoA Library Catalogue using keywords from the title, or PMB plus the Reference code number (e.g. PMB 1364), and note the microfilm reel number.
For multi-reel items, detailed print finding aids are available in the Microtext Room. For help or enquiries: cultural.collections@auckland.ac.nz

Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa | National Library of New Zealand
Collections managed by the National Library including the Te Puna web directory to selected New Zealand, Māori and Pacific Island websites.
Archives New Zealand
Digitised Pacific Resources: Global Collections
Collections of digitised documentary materials relating to the history, culture and people of the Pacific region including Micronesia, Melanesia, Polynesia and New Zealand listed on the National Library of Australia website including Pacific resources.
Pacific Research Archives [Australian National University]
Research material about the Pacific Islands including company and trade union records, records of anthropologists, linguists, geographers and historians who lived and worked in the Pacific.

The Tuzin Archive for Melanesian Anthropology [UC San Diego]]
A major repository for research materials created by anthropologists and other scholars working in Melanesia.
Pacific Collection [University of Adelaide]
Books and journals on the history, culture, art, fiction and language of the Pacific islands. Includes mission history and Pacific anthropology/ethnology journals.
Pacific Digital Image Collection [University of Hawai'i at Manoa]
Pacific and Regional Archive for Digital Sources in Endangered Cultures (PARADISEC)
Audio recordings and video recordings of performance, narrative, singing, and other oral tradition, mainly from the Pacific region.